Workshop in the exhibition

27 Jun

It’s the last day of the exhibition at Leeds college of Art & Design today. Yesterday, we had an impromptu workshop in the studio with some new creatures being made.

Workshop in the exhibition

Here’s Donna Walker’s completed Giraffe 2…

Donna and Giraffe 2

Bryony made a badge for her favourite module tutor, Bridget to give to her as a present.

Bryony with her Bridget badge

Sophie and her penguin (I need to find out what name she gave this one)…

Sophie with Penguin

Here’s Kelly Pollard’s toy. I like how she’s stitched her initials on the creature.

Kelly's toy

Helen Williams created an outfit for Lil’s ‘Floppy Drunks Friend’ toy.

A outfit for Floppy Drunk's friend

Bryony also made Kelly-Jelly fish

Bryony's Kelly-Jelly fish

Here’s Bav’s creation. Nice use of a zip for a mouth.

Bav's toy

And this cutie was made by Kate Harrison…

Kate's toy

4 Responses to “Workshop in the exhibition”

  1. Allyson June 27, 2007 at 4:50 pm #

    Brilliant work-I love recycled art.
    I love making crazy animal toys out of felt, I have even made a Mr T.

  2. Alicia Talikowska June 30, 2007 at 1:26 pm #

    Thanks Allyson. It’s great fun! We had so many little creatures made during this exhibition, that I may need to have another exhibition for them all. But I quite like that, it will be a continuous circle of making and exhibiting. You can come to see what has been made, see more work being made (live) and join in and make work yourself.

    Thanks for putting us on your blog. You have found lots of interesting things on the internet and how lovely of you to share them with everyone.
    I’d love to see your Mr T doll. Seeing the exhibition of Mr T dolls (on the internet) in New York was one of things that inspired the project.

  3. Allyson July 1, 2007 at 6:01 pm #

    http://ablogonthespectrum.blogspot.com/2007/05/not-bored.html
    Wednesday May 30 2007 entry
    just a simple felt Mr T I am afraid.
    My girls think your work is brilliant.
    My 21 year old is doing a Textile degree and my 16 year old wants to do a Fashion degree.
    I did my GCSE Art 4 years ago(I got an A-I know it sounds like I’m bragging but I was so chuffed) and in September I will be doing my Art A level. After that I’m not sure what I want to do.

  4. Texas Gifts September 19, 2007 at 3:21 pm #

    One of my best friends went to Leeds university and I wish I could have made it to this exhibit. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

